Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Board of Directors

Special Olympics' volunteer Board of Directors determines international policies. The board is composed of business and sport leaders, professional athletes, educators and experts in intellectual disabilities from around the world.


Timothy Shriver, Ph.D

Chairman of the Board

William P. Alford

Lead Director & Vice Chair

Loretta Claiborne

Chief Inspiration Officer; Vice Chair

Dale Jones


Angelo Moratti

Vice Chair

Mary Davis

Chief Executive Officer

Brandon M. Fitzgerald

Chief Legal Officer; Secretary, Board of Directors

Daniel Kurland

Assistant Secretary, Board of Directors

Arnedia Wallace

Assistant Secretary, Board of Directors

Board Members

Jaime Alemán

Former Ambassador of Panama to the United States; Senior Partner, Aleman, Cordero, Galindo & Lee

His Excellency Yousef Al Otaiba

UAE Ambassador to the US; Special Olympics

Dr. Jim Clements

President, Clemson University

Bart Conner

Sports Broadcaster; Olympic Gymnastics Gold Medalist

Yolanda Eleta de Varela

President, Special Olympics Panama; Member, Latin America Strategic Advisory Council

Nyasha Derera

Chair, Global Athlete Congress; Special Olympics Athlete, Zimbabwe

Didier Drogba

Legendary Professional Football (Soccer) Player

Anne Finucane

Vice Chairman, Bank of America

Benita Fitzgerald Mosley

Vice President, Community and Impact; President, FundPlay for LeagueApps; Olympic Gold Medalist, 100 Meter Hurdles

Jennifer Fortner

Managing Director, Goldman Sachs Chicago

Ronak Lakhani

General Secretary, Special Olympics Pakistan

Ray Lane

Managing Partner, GreatPoint Ventures; Strategic Advisor, Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers

Li Ruigang

Founding Chairman of CMC Capital Partners

Glenn Lyon

Former Chairman & CEO, Finish Line

Hamchetou Maiga-Ba

International Advisory Committee Africa Representative; Chairperson, Special Olympics Mali

Károly Mirnics, M.D., Ph.D.

Director, Munroe-Meyer Institute; Hattie B. Munroe Professor of Psychiatry, Pharmacology and Experimental Neuroscience, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC)

Carolina Picasso

International Advisory Committee Latin America Representative; President, Special Olympics Chile

Satish Pillai

Chairman Special Olympics Bharat; Recipient of the DhyanChand Award, a lifetime achievement sporting honor of the Republic of India

James Quincey

Chairman and CEO of The Coca-Cola Company

Eleni Rossides

International Advisory Committee Europe Eurasia Representative; National Director, Special Olympics Cyprus

David Sable

Non-Executive Chairman, Young & Rubicam

Kim Samuel

President, The Samuel Family Foundation

Shi Derong

Chief Advisor, Dongyi Capital; Chairman, Shanghai Private Equity Association

Bobby Shriver

Activist; Attorney

Mark Shriver

Senior Vice President, U.S. Programs and Advocacy, Save the Children; CEO, Save the Children Action Network

Maria Gabriela Sigala

Activist; Philanthropist; Attorney

Chang-Woo Soh

Chairperson of SOEA RLC, President of Special Olympics Seoul, Vice President of SO Korea and CEO of Papa Johns Korea

Natalia Vodianova

Model; Philanthropist; Film Actress

Yang Lan

Founding Chairperson, Sun Culture Media Group and Sun Culture Foundation; Journalist; Philanthropist

Mike Zafirovski

Founder, Chairman, and President of The Zaf Group